FaH not running

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Michael_Kaye

FaH not running

Post by Michael_Kaye »

Hi, I am new to the forum. I have some tech knowledge but not a lot!
I have been happily running FaH on a 2014 iMac with Big Sur. I have migrated to a 2021 iMac running Ventura. Folding at Home came across but it is not running. I have tried 2 uninstalls and reinstalls with no difference. FaH control says the status is ready and says FaH core is interrupted. The log records it is trying to start but then stops. I have checked FaH has permissions and it is excluded from the firewall. My FaH account is recognised after each reinstall.
I have looked through some forum posts but cannot find anything that can help me. I will post any extra information that may give your experienced users something to work on if you tell me what will help to diagnose the problem.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2

Re: FaH not running

Post by Joe_H »

Welcome to the folding support forum.

The F@h installer was written for older versions of macOS, see this topic for some commands needed to have it work with versions past macOS 11 - viewtopic.php?p=353629#p353629.

The other option is running the public Beta of the v8 client - https://foldingathome.org/beta. I have that running on my Mac Studio with Ventura. It doesn't work with Safari as a browser, I downloaded a recent Firefox ESR release and that handles the web based control fine. There is no separate FAHControl for the v8 Beta.

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Michael_Kaye

Post by Michael_Kaye »