Page 2 of 2

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 9:53 pm
by PantherX
Welcome to the F@H Forum impala454,

Can you please describe how you install the client, what version you installed and if you changed any settings from the default.

IIRC, the config.xml is created when you start up FAHClient for the first time. If you didn't start it up, it would not be created.

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 9:57 pm
by bruce
Those files are not kept in the same directory as the software, they are in a location commonly called "FAHData." Look for the line near the top of the log specifying CWD. It will depend on your OS and how you installed the software, as PantherX suggests.

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:56 pm
by impala454
Thanks I found it with the suggestion from bruce. For folks who arrive here and see this, I'm on Windows and client version 7.6.21, and my config.xml was found at C:\ProgramData\FAHClient.

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot

Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:40 pm
by gs60
Linking this with viewtopic.php?f=108&t=36488 as this thread describes a better way to add the option instead of directly editing the config.xml file.

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2022 5:31 am
by safetaco
:)
impala454 wrote: ↑Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:53 pm I arrived here with the same issue. I do not appear to have a `config.xml` (or any xml files for that matter) in my FAHClient directory on windows. Any suggestions?
Sorry for the necro reply but I wanted to make sure you had a solution. I came here with the same struggles.

For me the config.xml file is located here: D:\ProgramData\FAHClient\config.xml

I also struggled with how to properly configure the file to get it to accept that there were no GPUs. Below is what I came up with and it works. If you want to only use your CPU and hide+disable all GPUs in your PC, copy and paste the text below and replace the contents of the config.xml file:

***edited out my username and passkey***

Code: Select all

<config>
  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
  <gpu v='false'/>

  <!-- Slot Control -->
  <power v='LIGHT'/>

  <!-- User Information -->
  <passkey v=‘xxxxxxxxxxxxxx'/>
  <user v='name'/>

  <!-- Folding Slots -->
  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
</config>

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot?

Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2022 8:56 pm
by bambihunter
Copy and pasting that code "safetaco" would then make them fold under your username which they may not want to do. I'd also recommend not posting your passkey public. I am sure you mean well. :e)

This was the pertinent snippet based on the topic of this thread that they could replace the related GPU line in their config.xml file. By just swapping this line over what was the <gpu line before, they will still fold for whomever they were already set up for:

Code: Select all

<gpu v='false'/>

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot?

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2023 2:42 am
by VirtualCab
I pasted the above code into the config file and it did nothing. For some reason the gpu slot was listed right under the cpu slot in the config file, so I deleted that slot.

Restarted folding from scratch a few times to make sure, and it works. No more gpu folding. Reporting my experience for anyone else as dumb and/or unobservant as me. :P

Re: How do I stop FAHClient from adding an unwanted GPU slot?

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2023 8:23 pm
by calxalot
gpu false prevents the client from re-creating a gpu slot. It does not disable or delete any existing slots.