FAH for Raspbian/Raspberry?

FAH provides a V7 client installer for Debian / Mint / Ubuntu / RedHat / CentOS / Fedora. Installation on other distros may or may not be easy but if you can offer help to others, they would appreciate it.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

P.U.Baer

FAH for Raspbian/Raspberry?

Post by P.U.Baer »

Hello,
i own several, temporarily unused Raspberry Pi 3 and Pi 3+ with Raspbian OS.

I would love to let them contribute to Folding at Home, but i am not too experienced in computing.
Is there any experience oder information, how to run FAH on Raspberry Computersystems?

Thanks for help and your infos

P.U. Baer
davidcoton

Re: FAH for Raspbian/Raspberry?

Post by davidcoton »

Sorry, there is no client for the Raspberry Pi.
In any case Pi computers are very low power compared with average desktops, and would take too long to process a WU.
P.U.Baer

Post by P.U.Baer »

Even the raspberry Pi 4? Well, my desktop seems to be an old one, too...
JimboPalmer

Post by JimboPalmer »

[I am just a volunteer like you, these are just my opinions]

Sony paid for and wrote a project for Android on ARM.
After they wrote it, ARM started using multi CPU system using big.LITTLE, which confused the Sony code.
Even new Sony phones did not work with F@H.
Sony put the code into the public domain and abandoned the project.
The code is still out there, doing little.

There are huge issues to getting this code in your Pi.

Android vs Linux.

Single threaded CPU vs SMP big.LITTLE code

CPU code vs GPU code.

https://www.androidpolice.com/2017/10/1 ... en-source/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ARM_big.LITTLE

(One issue with Pi, is that all previous F@H projects have had a corporate sponsor, Pi has no 'Deep Pockets' funding source)
https://foldingathome.org/about/partners/
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
owen

Post by owen »