Why are you folding?

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

beer

Why are you folding?

Post by beer »

I have been folding for a while now, and I am wondering why people are folding?

I am during it because:
Main reason is a "What if I got one of those diseases and by folding now I could live with a few more "nice" years if am folding now"-scenarie ?
Sitting at another univerity and working with modelling (mainly fasset.dk) as tech I am interested in the science and Technical approach by folding@home
And a little bit of showing off

Why ar you folding?
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
Hardware configuration: OS: Windows 10, Kubuntu 19.04
CPU: i7-6700k
GPU: GTX 970, GTX 1080 TI
RAM: 24 GB DDR4

Re: Why are you folding?

Post by Jesse_V »

I find this project very fascinating. I'm majoring in Computer Science, and I find parallel processing particularly interesting. Instead of using an expensive fast computer, how can the problem be divided up and solved in pieces concurrently? I have a lot of respect for people that can take seemingly serial tasks and parallelize them. I also like molecular biology, and I continue to be astonished by how "smart" biological cells actually are. It's so cool how a collection of wiggling molecules can accomplish so much and keep the cell alive.