How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
miczac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2024 5:44 am

How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

Post by miczac »

Hi,
that's the first time I'm seeing three items for two slots in the queue.
I'm not sure how that happened? :?

Code: Select all

> slot-info
PyON 1 slots
[
  {
    "id": "00",
    "status": "FINISHING",
    "description": "cpu:15",
    "options": {},
    "reason": "",
    "idle": False
  },
  {
    "id": "01",
    "status": "FINISHING",
    "description": "gpu:197:0 Phoenix(1)",
    "options": {"pci-bus": "197", "pci-slot": "0"},
    "reason": "",
    "idle": False
  }
]
---
> queue-info
PyON 1 units
[
  {"id": "00", "state": "READY", "error": "NO_ERROR", "project": 12412, "run": 68, "clone": 3, "gen": 27, "core": "0xa8", "unit": "0x1b00000003000000440000007c300000", "percentdone": "0.00%", "eta": "3.50 days", "ppd": "43012", "creditestimate": "150542", "waitingon": "", "nextattempt": "0.00 secs", "timeremaining": "4.93 days", "totalframes": 0, "framesdone": 0, "assigned": "2024-01-04T05:49:50Z", "timeout": "2024-01-07T17:49:50Z", "deadline": "2024-01-09T05:49:50Z", "ws": "129.32.209.203", "cs": "129.32.209.207", "attempts": 0, "slot": "00", "tpf": "50 mins 24 secs", "basecredit": "150542"},
  {"id": "01", "state": "RUNNING", "error": "NO_ERROR", "project": 18806, "run": 100, "clone": 9, "gen": 112, "core": "0xa9", "unit": "0x00000009000000700000497600000064", "percentdone": "18.30%", "eta": "7 hours 18 mins", "ppd": "158554", "creditestimate": "59091", "waitingon": "", "nextattempt": "0.00 secs", "timeremaining": "2.72 days", "totalframes": 100, "framesdone": 18, "assigned": "2024-01-03T22:25:06Z", "timeout": "2024-01-06T22:25:06Z", "deadline": "2024-01-07T00:49:06Z", "ws": "144.121.86.56", "cs": "128.174.73.74", "attempts": 0, "slot": "00", "tpf": "5 mins 22 secs", "basecredit": "32000"},
  {"id": "02", "state": "RUNNING", "error": "NO_ERROR", "project": 12424, "run": 3, "clone": 199, "gen": 987, "core": "0x22", "unit": "0xdb030000c70000000300000088300000", "percentdone": "10.56%", "eta": "11 hours 45 mins", "ppd": "142586", "creditestimate": "78059", "waitingon": "", "nextattempt": "0.00 secs", "timeremaining": "1.93 days", "totalframes": 100, "framesdone": 10, "assigned": "2024-01-04T05:49:50Z", "timeout": "2024-01-05T17:49:50Z", "deadline": "2024-01-06T05:49:50Z", "ws": "129.32.209.200", "cs": "158.130.118.25", "attempts": 0, "slot": "01", "tpf": "7 mins 53 secs", "basecredit": "47618"}
]
I'm assuming this WU with id 00 will be processed as soon the CPU-slot is done with the current one? (if its state was "running", of course)
Thanks, Michael.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7871
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

Post by Joe_H »

By default the v7 client downloads a WU when a current WU reaches 99% completion. That can be configured to a value between 90% and 100%. There are some corner error conditions that can result in a WU being downloaded otherwise with a WU being processed by the slot at less than 90% done.

In this case setting the CPU slot to Finish may be safest. There have been times when an additional WU got downloaded so another will sit at 0% until a previous WU finishes and keep doing that for a while.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
miczac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2024 5:44 am

Re: How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

Post by miczac »

Ok, done!
In two hours I'll see what's going to happen.
Thanks, Michael.
miczac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2024 5:44 am

Re: Extra Item in Queue (was: How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?)

Post by miczac »

The WU was uploaded,

Code: Select all

14:47:21:WU01:FS00:Upload complete
14:47:21:WU01:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
14:47:21:WU01:FS00:Final credit estimate, 59080.00 points
14:47:21:WU01:FS00:Cleaning up
and despite (but that's just my POV) I set the client to "finish" it started working on the queued WU.
I don't know if that fits your picture, but this is what it looks like now:

Code: Select all

> slot-info
PyON 1 slots
[
  {
    "id": "00",
    "status": "FINISHING",
    "description": "cpu:15",
    "options": {},
    "reason": "",
    "idle": False
  },
  {
    "id": "01",
    "status": "FINISHING",
    "description": "gpu:197:0 Phoenix(1)",
    "options": {"pci-bus": "197", "pci-slot": "0"},
    "reason": "",
    "idle": False
  }
]
---
> queue-info
PyON 1 units
[
  {"id": "00", "state": "RUNNING", "error": "NO_ERROR", "project": 12412, "run": 68, "clone": 3, "gen": 27, "core": "0xa8", "unit": "0x1b00000003000000440000007c300000", "percentdone": "1.63%", "eta": "1.12 days", "ppd": "207062", "creditestimate": "236779", "waitingon": "", "nextattempt": "0.00 secs", "timeremaining": "4.61 days", "totalframes": 100, "framesdone": 1, "assigned": "2024-01-04T05:49:50Z", "timeout": "2024-01-07T17:49:50Z", "deadline": "2024-01-09T05:49:50Z", "ws": "129.32.209.203", "cs": "129.32.209.207", "attempts": 0, "slot": "00", "tpf": "16 mins 28 secs", "basecredit": "150542"},
  {"id": "02", "state": "RUNNING", "error": "NO_ERROR", "project": 12424, "run": 3, "clone": 199, "gen": 987, "core": "0x22", "unit": "0xdb030000c70000000300000088300000", "percentdone": "69.68%", "eta": "3 hours 55 mins", "ppd": "145210", "creditestimate": "78319", "waitingon": "", "nextattempt": "0.00 secs", "timeremaining": "1.61 days", "totalframes": 100, "framesdone": 69, "assigned": "2024-01-04T05:49:50Z", "timeout": "2024-01-05T17:49:50Z", "deadline": "2024-01-06T05:49:50Z", "ws": "129.32.209.200", "cs": "158.130.118.25", "attempts": 0, "slot": "01", "tpf": "7 mins 46 secs", "basecredit": "47618"}
]
---
Was the client supposed to start working on the queued WU immediately?
Joe_H
Site Admin
Posts: 7871
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2
Location: W. MA

Re: How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

Post by Joe_H »

Yes. I don't know if it should be considered a bug or a feature, but usually the Finish status setting will complete any WUs queued for a folding slot and then stop. However it does keep the slot from downloading additional WUs until the next time the slot is unpaused. It has been too long since I dug down deep into the options available in the other client settings to know if there is still a "finish current WU and stop" setting, but there was in the v6 client over a decade ago.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
miczac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2024 5:44 am

Re: How is the 'Work Queue' getting filled?

Post by miczac »

Ok, thank you for your elaborate replies!
Michael.
Post Reply