FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
tvdsluis
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:12 am

FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by tvdsluis »

After a long time working correctly, FAHcontrol is not connecting.
It happened before about a year ago, and was resolved by a re-install.

Before i do a restore again and lose work again and have to re-configure again, is there anything i can do to make this work with less hassle?

And maybe somebody can make FAHcontrol more robust?

This is getting a little annoying.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6020
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by toTOW »

Do you start the client before FAH Control ?

Do you see the FAHClient process running when FAHControl can't connect ?
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
tvdsluis
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:12 am

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by tvdsluis »

No client processes are running.

I always start FAHcontrol and then choose slots for folding which start the client processes.
I shutdown the folding slots (pause) and then fahcontrol before i shutdown the computer.
The log from yesterday ends with "Clean exit", and has:::

00:53:03:WU02:FS02:0xa8:Completed 50000 out of 250000 steps (20%)
00:58:00:WU01:FS01:0x22:Completed 2225000 out of 2500000 steps (89%)
00:59:52:WU02:FS02:0xa8:Completed 52500 out of 250000 steps (21%)
01:02:47:FS02:Paused
01:02:47:FS02:Shutting core down
01:02:48:WU02:FS02:0xa8:Exiting, please wait. . .
01:03:00:WU01:FS01:0x22:Completed 2250000 out of 2500000 steps (90%)
01:03:00:WU01:FS01:0x22:Checkpoint completed at step 2250000
01:03:11:FS01:Paused
01:03:11:FS01:Shutting core down

No idea what went wrong and fahcontrol doesn't make a new log when started.
Just has orange "connecting" in the main window.
gunnarre
Posts: 558
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:23 pm
Location: Norway

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by gunnarre »

The client process should start when you log in - it's not supposed to wait until you start FAHControl. Have you installed it normally?

Search for the FAHClient process in task manager. See if there's a program called "HideConsole" in the Windows startup items - it's what is supposed to start the client, if you installed it as a normal program instead of as a service.

Can you try to see if a log is being made? You can see method 2 and 3 here, viewtopic.php?p=327412&f=24#p327412 which don't need FAHControl to find.

If there is no sign of activity, it might be better to re-install it. Alternatively, there could be some anti-virus software which from time to time flags FAH because it downloads other programs (folding cores) to run.
Image
Online: RTX 3050, GTX 1660 Super, GTX 950 + occasional CPU folding in the cold.
Offline: Radeon HD 7770, GTX 960, GTX 1050 Ti
Eagle
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 1:06 am
Hardware configuration: AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950X (3.5 GHz)
ASUS Prime X399-A
G.Skill 32 GB DDR4-RAM (3.2 GHz)
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Black (1.8 / 7 GHz)
Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB, 850 Pro 512 GB, Crucial C300 256 GB
Western Digital Black 2 TB, Gold 4 TB
Location: » Earth » Europe » Germany
Contact:

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by Eagle »

I can confirm the bug the OP experiences - not only for latest Win 10, but also for latest Win 11 & it's happening, at least to me, since at least April - if not March - this year.
Michael Jordan: “I can accept failure — But I can’t accept not trying.”
Image
hrsetrdr
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:29 pm
Location: In the Fold somewhere in SoCal.

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by hrsetrdr »

tvdsluis wrote: Mon Mar 07, 2022 9:22 am Before i do a restore again and lose work again and have to re-configure again, is there anything i can do to make this work with less hassle?
You can at least monitor in-progress WUs until they finish with the web-based client: https://client.foldingathome.org/
Folding rig:Supermicro X9DRD-7LN4F-JBOD | (2) Xeon E5-2670 | 128GB DDR3 ECC Registered

Image
Install Folding@Home on Linux without Python dependancy issues
Thelonius Funk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2022 5:16 am

Re: FAHcontrol not connecting (windows 10)

Post by Thelonius Funk »

I'm having the same problem Win 11. I re-installed but no dice. It worked briefly the first time.
Post Reply