dual boot - linux + windows

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
tmillic
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Hardware configuration: AMD3200+ w/ NVIDIA GT220.
Tyan S2912 with 1 Opteron 2347HE.
Via C3.
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas

dual boot - linux + windows

Post by tmillic »

I regularly use Linux and fold on it. I use Windows when I don't have to do anything productive. All documents, regardless of which OS, are on a file server. I haven't folded on Windows in months because it's not often used, but would it be possible for it to run the work in the same folder that I fold from under Linux when I am on Windows? I haven't got a clue how I would start it or if it can be configured to do so .
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Post by 7im »

It's possible, can be a pain to setup. I've seen a few threads discuss this before. Try the forum search.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
toTOW
Site Moderator
Posts: 6312
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Post by toTOW »

Windows and Linux work file are not compatible ... you can't share them between two different OSes :(

But you could run the Windows client under Linux (wine) from a shared location ... or run the linux client in a Linux VM under Windows ... but that will probably be hard to setup :(
Image

Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.
tmillic
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:36 pm
Hardware configuration: AMD3200+ w/ NVIDIA GT220.
Tyan S2912 with 1 Opteron 2347HE.
Via C3.
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Post by tmillic »

OK. Thanks.
v00d00
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:53 am
Hardware configuration: FX8320e (6 cores enabled) @ stock,
- 16GB DDR3,
- Zotac GTX 1050Ti @ Stock.
- Gigabyte GTX 970 @ Stock
Debian 9.

Running GPU since it came out, CPU since client version 3.
Folding since Folding began (~2000) and ran Genome@Home for a while too.
Ran Seti@Home prior to that.
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: dual boot - linux + windows

Post by v00d00 »

Its fairly easy using wine.

You simply need a folding directory in your .wine/drive_c/ directory.
Some sort of script to get it started and keep it going if it ever crashes.

Beyond that it will just do what it does.

A script example that can be cron'd using crontab.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

fah6dir="/home/myuser/.wine/drive_c/winfold1"
process=`ps auxw | grep fah6-1.exe | grep -v grep | awk '{print $11}'`

if [ -z "$process" ]; then

  echo "Couldn't find FAH5 running, restarting it."
  cd "$fah6dir"
  nohup screen -DmS winfold1 taskset -c 01 wine fah6-1.exe -forceasm -verbosity 9 -local &
  echo ""

fi
Remove "taskset -c 01" if you arent using a dual or quad core. Its there to just run that process on cpu 1 instead of cpu 0, leaving the first cpu to deal with any system processes and anything you use normally.

With regard crontab, type the following into a xterm before you issue the command: crontab -e. Change nano for the name of your fav text editor, unless you use vim normally, in which case dont bother with the editor line.

Code: Select all

export EDITOR=nano
Now do a crontab -e and set it to run the script how you want it. I tend to use:

Code: Select all

0-59 * * * * /path/to/script
Image
Post Reply